Re: Closed accounts

Josh Hillman ( (no email) )
Mon, 17 Mar 1997 12:03:15 -0500

> When you make an account inactive the customer can not sign-in
> even if the customer has time left on the account. Why?

Making a service or MBR "inactive" makes it inaccessable for authentication
and billing.

> Here is the problem. A customer want to close the account at
> the end of the month. How do you let the customer use the rest of
> the time left on the account and stop Emerald from billing the
> customer the next time payment is due?

Don't mark the service/MBR inactive. When the date of his/her expiration
comes, if a payment for the next billing cycle isn't marked paid in
Emerald, the expiration date won't increment and therefor the person won't
be able to log on anyway. He/she may still receive a bill (unless you
remember to mark the account inactive before billing) but if it's not paid,
they won't get service.